Felicity Brandon-The Viking’s Conquest

I’ve read a few of Felicity’s books, but this is the first time that I’ve put anything of hers on the blog. When I had some nice empty space, I told her that I wanted to put something of hers up and asked what she suggested. She wanted to know if I like Vikings. Oh yeah, I like Vikings. Vikings are hot. I like Vikings so much that I married me one. So yeah, Mama like. I really like Felicity’s Vikings too.

So, on to The Viking’s Conquest.

Aurelie of Donrose is the only daughter of the king. She has two older brothers, who, along with her father, are out battling the Viking invasion. Her brother Bowen comes to her and tells her that the Vikings are going to be attacking their castle, but he can’t stay to protect the castle or her, which means it’s up to her. Luckily, Bowen taught her how to fight with a sword and she’s pretty good. That means she’s going to be OK fighting the Northmen who are coming to invade her castle. Yeah, can you see what’s going to happen here? The title probably gives you a good idea.

Prince Anders is the one leading the battle against Donrose. He’s a successful invader and is successful when it comes to fighting and taking Donrose. As he is invading the castle, he finds Aurelie fighting and decides that she’s going to be his captive. He asks one of his men, Magnus, to make sure that she gets back to the camp OK. Of course, that’s right after he stops Magnus from killing Aurelie. Anders decides that he’s going to keep Aurelie as his captive and insists that she calls him my Lofdungr, meaning my prince, which is hard for Aurelie to swallow.

You know what time it is. I’m going to go one way, you can go to the other. But some thoughts before we split. This story is totally hot and totally OMG. It’s a pretty good example of a power exchange when it comes to a D/s relationship. In a power exchange, the submissive gives their submission to their Dom, and in exchange, the Dom gives their domination, care, and protection. Notice how I say gives. A good Dom never forces or takes submission from their sub, they earn their sub’s trust and submission. How much power the Dom has over the sub is generally negotiated beforehand (not so much in this book), and can range from the Dom having control over every aspect of their life, to a more relaxed plan. To go along with the PE aspect of the story, there are a lot of BDSM punishments, some very humiliating to Aurelie and some that some people would consider seriously hardcore. But, there’s also a great romance and good historical fiction. I totally liked this story. Go check it out.

art-viking-animal-heads cloak pin

 

I love how Aurelie struggles to figure out who she is and what she wants. She’s been a strong and proud person all her life and what Anders demands of her can be really hard for her, especially some of the really, really humiliating things that he has her do. However, she figures out that she likes it and maybe even needs it.

Anders, super hot and super alpha and Dom-ly, is hard for me to get a read on sometimes. Probably because I’m not a Dom-ly Viking prince type. Sometimes his thought processes elude me. The things that he does he does to teach Aurelie some kind of lesson, but that doesn’t mean that I necessarily understand his choices. Of course, it doesn’t help that we never see his POV. The story is written entirely from Aurelie’s POV, which isn’t a bad thing, but we can’t see what he’s thinking. But maybe that’s also a good thing, that makes him a better character. He’s probably not one of the characters that we would want to see monologuing. This is probably one I’m going to debate for a while.

Anyway, I’m going to be reading more of her books than I already have. Spoiler alert, more Felicity will show up on my blog in the future. We have two more posts today. One from Jaye Peaches and one from Sophie Kisker. More from Sophie tomorrow too.

Author: Clara Brotherton/In Between the Pages

I'm a 50something avid reader. I started reading at 4 and haven't looked back. I have opinions and I want to share them with everyone.

Leave a comment