Ava Sinclair-His to Corrupt

I really enjoy reading Ava Sinclair’s books and own several of them. I’m working on having all of them. She has menage, she has age play, she has dark, she has sexy, so yeah, I have her books. Today, I’m writing about her newest one, a contemporary romance, His to Corrupt.

HtC is part of her Completely His series, which is all contemporary romances full of Alpha men and the women they love. I have a soft spot for this one. That’s because it’s really easy to see myself in the role of the heroine because she has my name. See how that worked out for me?

Anyhow, to the book!

Clara is the quiet one of her friends, Macy and Lara. She doesn’t go out and party a lot, she doesn’t drink a lot, she doesn’t really date that much. She recently got out of a relationship with a rather boring, average guy. Her friends really only keep her around so that they look better by comparison. I don’t like her friends all that much. Mostly because, well, mostly because…

Anyhow, one night, her friends drag her out to a slightly illegal bar out in the bad part of town’s bad part. Her friends know that they can hook up while they are there. However, when a guy sends a drink to the table, it’s to Clara and not her friends, which kind of shocks them. Clara turns it down and fakes going to the bathroom so that she can leave. However, Gus, the nasty guy, has other ideas. The bouncer saves her and kicks her out. When things get worse, the bouncer turns out to be the owner, Jackson.

Jackson isn’t necessarily a nice guy. Afterall, he spent time in jail and he runs a tough bar that makes other tough bars look tame. He’s also not a relationship kind of guy. But when he meets Clara, there’s just something about her that he can’t refuse. After a dramatic rescue, he asks her out to dinner, which she agrees to.

OK, you know what time it is. This is a relatively quick read but packed full of all kinds of goodness. We got crazy, crazy sex, nasty people, hypocrites, and an HEA. It’s on the dark-ish side. I wouldn’t call it black, but it is gray, for sure. There is a lot of bad language and a lot of sex. Did I mention the hot sex? I highly recommend any of Ava’s books, especially if you like sexy, kinky sex.

scarletletter_Medium

 

OK, first of all, I kind of get mad at Jackson sometimes. It seems to me that he doesn’t always take the time to listen to Clara or look at her POV. However, most of the time I’m all good when it comes to him.

I’ll tell you the ones that I’m really mad at, and that’s the hypocrites in the book, mostly all the ones at Clara’s school. They hold her to insane standards. I mean, they want her to be the Virgin Mary for a Christmas pageant since she’s so goodie good. Clara is teaching her class about The Scarlet Letter, and I think that there are some parallels between the books. Like Hester, people were ready to judge Clara without even really knowing her, and they were perfectly happy to shame her.

I also don’t like Macy. I didn’t like her at all from the very beginning since she just seemed like she wanted to keep Clara like a pet and to make her feel better about herself since all the guys came to her. And she did something really fucking nasty. Like I said, I don’t like her.

OK, that’s all I have to say today. We have some amazing stories coming up, including one in which Anna Zaires tries to kill me. Meanwhile, happy reading!

 

Leave a Reply

